OpenAI Dev Day 2026: The Updates Behind The Headlines
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Dev Day 2026: The Updates Behind The Headlines on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

At its Sept. 29 DevDay, OpenAI announced more than 20 products and features aimed at making ChatGPT a platform for people and software agents. The major announcements include persistent Dots, expanded plugins, APIs for decisions and computer use, and Sign in with ChatGPT; availability varies, and several details remain limited or unannounced.

OpenAI announced more than 20 products and features at its DevDay on Sept. 29, positioning ChatGPT as a platform where people and software agents can work across apps. The announcements include persistent Dots agents, expanded plugins, new APIs for bounded decisions and computer use, and Sign in with ChatGPT for partner services.

OpenAI described Dots as persistent agents powered by GPT-6 Astra, each with its own cloud computer and browser. The company says a Dot can work on ongoing projects, connect to more than 4,000 apps through plugins and be reached through ChatGPT on desktop, web and mobile, as well as Slack and Teams. Voice calls are available, while texting is described as forthcoming. The first Dot is included with eligible Pro and Business Premium plans in supported markets; Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare customers can access a beta if an administrator enables it.

OpenAI also expanded its plugin system, adding extensions inside ChatGPT, a creator and submission flow, improved discovery, Sites for sharing plugins within organizations and support for MCP Events that can trigger automations. The company said eligible enterprise customers can use OpenAI Marketplace to spend part of their OpenAI commitment with 32 launch partners, including Figma, Adobe, Salesforce and ServiceNow.

For developers, the Decisions API applies GPT-6 Luna to choices drawn from a finite list set by the developer; it is in limited preview. The Agents API now supports computer use, with OpenAI operating the Codex harness. Sign in with ChatGPT lets users use an existing ChatGPT plan with 16 launch partners. OpenAI also announced GPT-6.1 Sol, which it described as offering near-Astra intelligence at one-fifth of Astra’s token prices.

At a glance
recapWhen: Announced Sept. 29, 2026; some products…
The developmentOpenAI used DevDay 2026 to announce a suite of agent products and developer tools that extend ChatGPT beyond conversation into software tasks and integrations.

OpenAI DevDay 2026 at a glance

29 September 2026: more than 20 announcements across ChatGPT, Codex, the API and enterprise.

The five launches that matter, plus Sol

Six of the 20-plus announcements decide what builders do next.
DotsAlways-on agents on GPT-6 Astra with their own cloud computerrolling out
PluginsExtensions, Plugin Creator, discovery, Sites and MCP eventslive now
Decisions APILuna answers from a finite list you definelimited preview
Agents API + computer useManaged Codex harness that can drive a browserpublic beta
Sign in with ChatGPTUsers bring their plan to 16 partner appslive now
GPT-6.1 SolNear-Astra intelligence at one-fifth of the priceWork, Codex, API

The rest of the slate

Green means live, amber means preview or beta, blue means coming.

Collaboration

ChatGPT SpacelivePagesliveCollaborative slidesnext few weeksTeams and Team Taskslive@ChatGPT in Slack and TeamsliveMeetings pluginbeta, macOSShareable profileslive

Codex

Codex CloudliveCLI refreshvoice, /agentsCode ReviewliveCodex Security Cloudlive

Plans, enterprise, speed

Pro 500$500, 25× PlusUltrafastAstra now, Sol soonPrivate IntelligencePrivate Inference this fallBedrock Managed Agentsruns in AWSOpenAI Marketplace32 partners, apply
From “OpenAI DevDay 2026: Everything Announced and What It Means” on thorstenmeyerai.com. Sources: OpenAI DevDay recap and product pages, OpenAI developer docs, The New Stack, The Next Web, Axios, Artificial Analysis. Checked 30 September 2026. OpenAI figures are OpenAI’s own claims.

ChatGPT Becomes an Agent Distribution Channel

The announcements put software discovery and task completion at the center of OpenAI’s developer strategy. If users ask ChatGPT to complete a task and a plugin connects the service that performs it, businesses may reach customers through an agent interaction rather than a direct visit to their own app. That could change how companies attract users and how developers assess whether integrations are being selected and completing work.

Dots extend that approach to work that continues over time. OpenAI says agents can monitor updates and act across connected services, while the new computer-use support gives agents another way to operate existing software. These capabilities could reduce manual handoffs, but also make permissions, oversight and reliable execution central concerns for organizations adopting them.

Amazon

Top picks for "openai updat behind"

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From ChatGPT to Connected Agents

OpenAI framed ChatGPT as a shared interface for people and agents, citing 1.2 billion weekly users. That figure is the company’s stated reach; the announcement material does not provide a measurement period or methodology beyond describing it as weekly users.

The DevDay package links consumer-facing agents with developer infrastructure. Plugins provide connections and interfaces, while APIs let developers hand off specific decisions or software interactions. OpenAI also described specialist Dots for enterprises, with distinct identities, credentials and IT-provisioned hardware. Initial pilots are planned in procurement, invoice processing, email marketing, customer support and commercial contracting, alongside a planned Microsoft Agent 365 integration for governance.

Access, Controls and Performance Details

Availability differs by product and customer type: Dots are initially limited by plan and market, enterprise and education access requires an enabled beta, and the Decisions API is in limited preview. The source material does not specify a broad release date for that API, beyond saying one is promised, and gives no complete rollout schedule for the announcements.

OpenAI cautions that Dots can make mistakes. It describes controls including Custom Rules, approval requirements, an Activity View and options to pause or stop an agent; sensitive actions such as changing a password remain with the user. The announcement does not establish how these safeguards will perform across all integrations, or provide independent evidence for GPT-6.1 Sol’s stated price and capability comparison.

Rollout Moves Into Previews and Pilots

OpenAI’s immediate next steps are to make Dots available to eligible subscribers and begin enterprise pilots, while developers can explore the limited-preview Decisions API and the expanded plugin submission process. The company has also described a planned Microsoft Agent 365 integration for enterprise governance. Broader release dates and further details on access, pricing for additional Dots and API availability were not specified in the source material.

Key Questions

What did OpenAI announce at DevDay 2026?

OpenAI announced more than 20 products and features, including Dots agents, plugin upgrades, the Decisions API, computer-use support in the Agents API, Sign in with ChatGPT and GPT-6.1 Sol.

Who can use Dots now?

OpenAI says Dots are available to Pro and Business Premium customers in eligible markets. Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare customers can use a beta when an administrator enables it.

What does the Decisions API do?

It uses GPT-6 Luna to select from a finite set of answers defined by a developer, using text or images as context. OpenAI says the API is in limited preview.

Can Dots take actions without approval?

OpenAI describes rules that can allow, block or require approval for actions, and says users can monitor, pause or stop a Dot. It also says some sensitive tasks, including changing a password, remain under user control.

When will the new tools be broadly available?

The supplied announcement material does not give a full rollout calendar. Some features are available to eligible users now, while the Decisions API and enterprise Dots are in preview or pilot stages.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

How To Think About Claude’s AI Marketplace And Its 2,000+ Plugins

A BleepingComputer headline reports 2,000+ Claude plugins and connectors, but the available material does not confirm launch details or availability.

The 15 Best AI Solutions To Invest In During 2026

Explore the 15 best AI investment opportunities in 2026, including innovative startups and established solutions across industries, with expert insights.

Site:kwatsjpedia.org

Search interest in kwatsjpedia.org has surged, with a spike on one site and zero clicks yesterday. The cause remains unconfirmed, but attention is rising.

Inside The Fusion Of AI And SVG Carving In ‘The Runestone Field’

Innovative fusion of AI and SVG carving brings ‘The Runestone Field’ to life, blending ancient storytelling with modern technology in a groundbreaking project.