top surge protectors 2025
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

A multiple outlet surge protector can expand a crowded desk or media setup, but the right choice depends on more than outlet count: cord reach, spacing, USB charging and wall access all matter. The Anker 351 Power Strip is my best overall pick for its mix of 12 outlets, surge protection and USB-C/USB-A ports. For a larger device cluster, the SUPERDANNY 13-Outlet model adds a long cord, while the Amazon Basics 6-Outlet strip is a simpler option for modest needs. The main tradeoff is between capacity and footprint: high-outlet-count strips take more room, while wall extenders may limit access to neighboring sockets. Read on for the full breakdown and guidance on matching a design to your setup.

Prime Big Deal Days · Oct 6–7Offer from Amazon

Get smart everyday buys delivered free — and shop member deals

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
15
compared
12
brands
4100 joules
max surge protection
Which multiple outlet surge protector should you buy?
★ Top Pick
Anker 351 Power Strip with 12
Best Overall for High-Capacity Charging
12 AC outlets provide more connection capacity than the six-outlet models in this group.
See on Amazon →
Households or shared workspaces that need 12 AC sockets and want to charge several USB devices from the same strip.
ALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector
12 AC outlets and four USB ports cover a broad mix of powered and USB-charged devices.
View on Amazon →
Buyers who need a basic strip for standard plugs and value a protection-status indicator over integrated USB charging.
Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge P
Six AC outlets include a transformer outlet for a larger adapter.
View on Amazon →
People setting up a desk, bed, or entertainment area where the wall outlet is distant or the strip needs to be mounted.
SUPERDANNY Flat Plug Power Str
10-foot cord and flat angled plug support flexible placement behind furniture.
View on Amazon →
A student, renter, or bedside user who needs a few AC connections, convenient USB charging, and a mountable flat-plug strip.
Yintar 6-Foot Surge Protector
Six AC outlets plus two USB-A ports and one USB-C port.
View on Amazon →
Surge protection — compared
Anker 351 Power Strip with 12 2100 joules
ALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector2700 joules
Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge P790 joules, 3-line
SUPERDANNY Flat Plug Power Str1050 joules
Yintar 6-Foot Surge Protector 1680 joules
QINLIANF Surge Protector Power4100 joules
YISHU Surge Protector Power St900 joules
SUPERDANNY 10-Foot Surge Prote2100 joules
SUPERDANNY 28-Outlet Surge Pro2100 joules
One Beat 10-in-1 Surge Protect1800 joules
Teiobar Wall Outlet Surge Prot1,680 joules
POWRUI 6-Outlet Wall Outlet Ex1,680 joules
QINLIANF 5-Outlet Wall Extende1,680 joules
HANYCONY 12-Outlet Surge Prote1,080 joules
Pros & cons at a glance
Anker 351 Power Strip with 12
✓ 12 AC outlets provide more connection capacity than the six-outlet models in this group.
✗ USB output is shared and limited to 15W across the ports.
ALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector
✓ 12 AC outlets and four USB ports cover a broad mix of powered and USB-charged devices.
✗ USB-C output is specified by current rather than a clear wattage.
Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge P
✓ Six AC outlets include a transformer outlet for a larger adapter.
✗ No USB ports, unlike the Anker, Yintar, and SUPERDANNY options.
SUPERDANNY Flat Plug Power Str
✓ 10-foot cord and flat angled plug support flexible placement behind furniture.
✗ USB output is limited to 15W total across the ports.
Yintar 6-Foot Surge Protector
✓ Six AC outlets plus two USB-A ports and one USB-C port.
✗ USB-A output is limited to 2.4A per port, and combined USB output is not specified.
QINLIANF Surge Protector Power
✓ 24 AC outlets provide the highest stated outlet count among these five picks.
✗ USB-C ports provide only 5V output and do not support devices requiring 9–22V charging.
YISHU Surge Protector Power St
✓ Eight outlets have 1.8-inch spacing to reduce adapter interference.
✗ 900-joule surge protection is below the ratings listed for the other products in this batch.
SUPERDANNY 10-Foot Surge Prote
✓ A 10-foot flat extension cord reaches farther than the 6- and 6.5-foot cords on other picks here.
✗ The 13-amp and 1625-watt limits are lower than the 15-amp ratings of the QINLIANF and 28-outlet SUPERDANNY.
SUPERDANNY 28-Outlet Surge Pro
✓ Twenty-two grounded AC outlets and six USB ports support many connected devices.
✗ Surge protection is 2100 joules, below the QINLIANF’s 4100-joule rating.
One Beat 10-in-1 Surge Protect
✓ Direct-to-wall design avoids a separate corded strip on the floor or desk.
✗ Six AC outlets offer much less capacity than the corded SUPERDANNY and QINLIANF models.
Teiobar Wall Outlet Surge Prot
✓ Six widely spaced AC outlets fit larger adapters
✗ Cannot be secured to GFCI outlets
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protect
✓ Twelve AC outlets provide capacity for a dense device setup
✗ No USB ports are specified
POWRUI 6-Outlet Wall Outlet Ex
✓ Six AC outlets with 1,680 joules of surge protection
✗ USB-C does not support devices requiring 9–22V charging
QINLIANF 5-Outlet Wall Extende
✓ Four USB ports include three USB-A and one USB-C
✗ Cannot be secured to GFCI outlets
HANYCONY 12-Outlet Surge Prote
✓ Eight AC outlets plus four USB ports support mixed device setups
✗ The 1,080-joule rating is below the 1,680-joule ratings of the wall extenders in this batch

Key Takeaways

  • The amazon.com/dp/B09SG2Q23M?tag=great-money-20&ascsubtag=dc-1123324″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>Anker 351 is the most balanced pick: its 12 outlets and combination of USB-C and USB-A ports suit mixed device setups without jumping to an unusually large strip.
  • Outlet count alone does not determine usefulness: the 24- and 28-outlet SUPERDANNY and QINLIANF models suit dense equipment clusters, but their large bodies need more desk or floor space.
  • Long cords change where a strip can work: the SUPERDANNY 10-foot, 13-outlet model reaches farther from a wall than compact strips with shorter leads.
  • Wall extenders trade reach for a direct connection: One Beat, Teiobar, POWRUI and QINLIANF wall-mounted designs avoid a trailing cord, but may cover adjacent sockets or be awkward behind furniture.
  • Basic needs call for a simpler form: Amazon Basics offers six outlets and a six-foot cord, while USB-heavy models add charging convenience at the cost of more features and a larger footprint.
2
ALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector
Best for Maximum USB Port Count
1
Anker 351 Power Strip with 12
Best Overall for High-Capacity Charging
3
Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge P
Best Simple, No-USB Pick

Our Top Multiple Outlet Surge Protector Picks

Anker 351 Power Strip with 12 Outlets, 2100J Surge Protection, and USB-C/USB-A PortsAnker 351 Power Strip with 12 Outlets, 2100J Surge Protection, and USB-C/USB-A PortsBest Overall for High-Capacity ChargingAC outlets: 12USB ports: 1 USB-C and 2 USB-AUSB-C output: 20WVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
ALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 12 Outlets and 4 USB PortsALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 12 Outlets and 4 USB PortsBest for Maximum USB Port CountAC outlets: 12USB ports: 3 USB-A and 1 USB-CUSB-A output: Up to 2.4A per portVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 6-Foot CordAmazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 6-Foot CordBest Simple, No-USB PickOutlets: 6, including 1 transformer outletSurge protection: 790 joules, 3-lineCircuit breaker: 15AVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
SUPERDANNY Flat Plug Power Strip with 6 Outlets, 3 USB Ports, and 10-Foot Extension CordSUPERDANNY Flat Plug Power Strip with 6 Outlets, 3 USB Ports, and 10-Foot Extension CordBest for Hard-to-Reach OutletsAC outlets: 6USB ports: 2 USB-A and 1 USB-CMaximum USB output: 15W totalVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Yintar 6-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 Outlets and 3 USB PortsYintar 6-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 Outlets and 3 USB PortsBest Value for a Compact Charging SetupAC outlets: 6, including 1 widely spaced outletUSB ports: 2 USB-A and 1 USB-CUSB-A output: Up to 2.4A per portVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
QINLIANF Surge Protector Power Strip with 24 Outlets and 4 USB PortsQINLIANF Surge Protector Power Strip with 24 Outlets and 4 USB PortsBest for Maximum Outlet CapacityAC outlets: 24USB ports: 4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)Surge protection: 4100 joulesVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
YISHU Surge Protector Power Strip with 8 Outlets, 4 USB Ports, and 6-Foot CordYISHU Surge Protector Power Strip with 8 Outlets, 4 USB Ports, and 6-Foot CordBest for Widely Spaced PlugsAC outlets: 8USB ports: 4 (3 USB-A, 1 USB-C)Outlet spacing: 1.8 inVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
SUPERDANNY 10-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 13 Outlets and 4 USB PortsSUPERDANNY 10-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 13 Outlets and 4 USB PortsBest for Long-Reach PlacementAC outlets: 13USB ports: 4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)Cord length: 10 ftVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
SUPERDANNY 28-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 USB PortsSUPERDANNY 28-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 USB PortsBest for Shared WorkstationsAC outlets: 22USB ports: 6 (5 USB-A, 1 USB-C)Surge protection: 2100 joulesVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
One Beat 10-in-1 Surge Protector Outlet Extender with Rotating Plug and USB PortsOne Beat 10-in-1 Surge Protector Outlet Extender with Rotating Plug and USB PortsBest Compact Wall ExtenderAC outlets: 6USB ports: 4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)Surge protection: 1800 joulesVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Teiobar Wall Outlet Surge Protector with 6 Outlets and 4 USB PortsTeiobar Wall Outlet Surge Protector with 6 Outlets and 4 USB PortsBest Wall-Mounted Pick for USB ChargingAC outlets: 6USB ports: 4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)Surge protection: 1,680 joulesVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 8-Foot Flat-Plug CordBelkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 8-Foot Flat-Plug CordBest for Maximum AC Outlet CapacityAC outlets: 12Cord length: 8 ft (2.4 m)Surge protection: Listed as 3,940 joules; another supplied listing figure is 3,780 joulesVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
POWRUI 6-Outlet Wall Outlet Extender with 3 USB Ports and Night LightPOWRUI 6-Outlet Wall Outlet Extender with 3 USB Ports and Night LightBest Wall Extender for a BedroomAC outlets: 6USB ports: 3, including 1 USB-CSurge protection: 1,680 joulesVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
QINLIANF 5-Outlet Wall Extender with 4 USB Ports and Surge ProtectionQINLIANF 5-Outlet Wall Extender with 4 USB Ports and Surge ProtectionBest Compact Wall Extender for Shared ChargingAC outlets: 5USB ports: 4 (3 USB-A, 1 USB-C)Surge protection: 1,680 joulesVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
HANYCONY 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with USB Ports and 5-Foot Braided CordHANYCONY 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with USB Ports and 5-Foot Braided CordBest for Mixed AC and USB DevicesAC outlets: 8USB ports: 4 (2 USB-C, 2 USB-A)Surge protection: 1,080 joulesVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
multiple outlet surge protectorSurge protectionAC outletsUSB portsCord length
Anker 351 Power Strip with 12 2100 joules121 USB-C and 2 USB-A5 feet
ALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector2700 joules123 USB-A and 1 USB-C6 feet
Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge P790 joules, 3-line——6 feet
SUPERDANNY Flat Plug Power Str1050 joules62 USB-A and 1 USB-C10 feet
Yintar 6-Foot Surge Protector 1680 joules6, including 1 widely spaced outlet2 USB-A and 1 USB-C—
QINLIANF Surge Protector Power4100 joules244 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)6 ft
YISHU Surge Protector Power St900 joules84 (3 USB-A, 1 USB-C)6 ft
SUPERDANNY 10-Foot Surge Prote2100 joules134 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)10 ft
SUPERDANNY 28-Outlet Surge Pro2100 joules226 (5 USB-A, 1 USB-C)6.5 ft
One Beat 10-in-1 Surge Protect1800 joules64 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)—
Teiobar Wall Outlet Surge Prot1,680 joules64 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)—
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge ProtectListed as 3,940 joules; another supplied listing figure is 3,780 joules12—8 ft (2.4 m)
POWRUI 6-Outlet Wall Outlet Ex1,680 joules63, including 1 USB-C—
QINLIANF 5-Outlet Wall Extende1,680 joules54 (3 USB-A, 1 USB-C)—
HANYCONY 12-Outlet Surge Prote1,080 joules84 (2 USB-C, 2 USB-A)5 ft, braided

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. Anker 351 Power Strip with 12 Outlets, 2100J Surge Protection, and USB-C/USB-A Ports

    Anker 351 Power Strip with 12 Outlets, 2100J Surge Protection, and USB-C/USB-A Ports

    Best Overall for High-Capacity Charging

    View on Amazon

    I’d pick the Anker 351 for a desk or media area where many devices need outlets but a few also need direct USB charging. Its 12 AC outlets, including extra-spaced positions for bulky adapters, offer more room than the six-outlet Amazon Basics or Yintar strips. The 2100-joule surge rating adds a stronger listed buffer than those two alternatives, while overload and temperature protection add further safeguards. USB-C and two USB-A ports reduce the need for separate chargers, though their shared output is capped at 15W; the USB-C port’s 20W rating does not mean all ports can supply that much together. The main compromise is placement: its 5-foot cord is shorter than the SUPERDANNY’s 10-foot lead and the ALESTOR’s 6-foot cord.

    Pros:
    • 12 AC outlets provide more connection capacity than the six-outlet models in this group.
    • 2100 joules of surge protection, plus overload and temperature protection.
    • Extra-spaced outlets can fit bulky adapters without crowding neighboring sockets.
    • USB-C and two USB-A ports provide charging without separate wall adapters.
    Cons:
    • USB output is shared and limited to 15W across the ports.
    • The 5-foot cord offers less placement flexibility than the longer SUPERDANNY cord.

    Best for: Home-office or entertainment-center owners connecting many plugs and wanting a few built-in USB charging ports.

    Not ideal for: Anyone placing a power strip far from the wall outlet or expecting several USB devices to charge at high speed simultaneously.

    • AC outlets:12
    • USB ports:1 USB-C and 2 USB-A
    • USB-C output:20W
    • Maximum shared USB output:15W
    • Surge protection:2100 joules
    • Maximum current:13A
    • Cord length:5 feet
    • Dimensions:13 × 4.17 inches
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Anker 351 when outlet count and built-in safety features matter more than a long cord or high shared USB output.”
  2. ALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports

    ALESTOR 6-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports

    Best for Maximum USB Port Count

    View on Amazon

    The ALESTOR pairs 12 AC outlets with four USB ports, making it a strong fit when several phones or accessories need charging alongside plugged-in equipment. Compared with the Anker 351, it adds one USB port and a foot of cord, while listing 2700 joules of surge protection versus Anker’s 2100. Two widely spaced outlets also help accommodate larger adapters. Its tradeoff is less clarity around charging performance: the USB-C port is specified at up to 3A, but no wattage is given, and the product description uses unclear wording about some protection details. ETL-certified components, overload protection, and a flame-retardant shell are useful listed safeguards, but buyers who value straightforward, clearly stated charging limits may prefer Anker’s more explicit USB specifications.

    Pros:
    • 12 AC outlets and four USB ports cover a broad mix of powered and USB-charged devices.
    • 2700 joules of listed surge protection and overload protection.
    • Two widely spaced outlets make room for larger adapters.
    • Six-foot cord, ETL-certified components, and flame-retardant shell.
    Cons:
    • USB-C output is specified by current rather than a clear wattage.
    • The description is unclear about some protection features, making specifications harder to interpret.

    Best for: Households or shared workspaces that need 12 AC sockets and want to charge several USB devices from the same strip.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need clearly stated USB-C wattage or prefer product descriptions with more precise protection details.

    • AC outlets:12
    • USB ports:3 USB-A and 1 USB-C
    • USB-A output:Up to 2.4A per port
    • USB-C output:Up to 3A
    • Surge protection:2700 joules
    • Cord length:6 feet
    • Certification:ETL
    Our verdict
    “Choose the ALESTOR if four USB ports and a 12-outlet layout take priority over clearly defined USB-C charging specifications.”
  3. Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 6-Foot Cord

    Amazon Basics 6-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 6-Foot Cord

    Best Simple, No-USB Pick

    View on Amazon

    I’d shortlist this Amazon Basics strip for someone who wants a straightforward surge-protected extension rather than built-in device charging. It has six AC outlets, including one transformer outlet, and a 6-foot cord; unlike the USB-equipped Yintar and SUPERDANNY, it keeps the layout focused on standard plugs. The LED protection indicator gives a quick visual check that surge protection is active, while the 15-amp circuit breaker adds a separate layer of overload response. Its 790-joule rating is lower than the Anker, ALESTOR, and Yintar ratings listed here, so it is a more basic choice for surge capacity. It also lacks USB ports entirely, which means phones and tablets still need their own adapters. The appeal is simplicity, not maximum capacity or charging convenience.

    Pros:
    • Six AC outlets include a transformer outlet for a larger adapter.
    • LED indicates when surge protection is active.
    • 15-amp circuit breaker and 6-foot cord.
    • 14 AWG cord gauge and a listed maximum power of 1875W.
    Cons:
    • No USB ports, unlike the Anker, Yintar, and SUPERDANNY options.
    • 790 joules is a lower listed surge-protection rating than the other reviewed surge strips.

    Best for: Buyers who need a basic strip for standard plugs and value a protection-status indicator over integrated USB charging.

    Not ideal for: People charging phones or tablets at the strip, or connecting many devices that call for more than six outlets.

    • Outlets:6, including 1 transformer outlet
    • Surge protection:790 joules, 3-line
    • Circuit breaker:15A
    • Maximum power:1875W
    • Voltage:125V
    • Cord length:6 feet
    • Cord gauge:14 AWG
    • Dimensions:11.5 × 2.04 × 1.4 inches
    Our verdict
    “Choose this Amazon Basics model for uncomplicated AC-only use, but pick a USB-equipped strip if you want to charge devices without separate adapters.”
  4. SUPERDANNY Flat Plug Power Strip with 6 Outlets, 3 USB Ports, and 10-Foot Extension Cord

    SUPERDANNY Flat Plug Power Strip with 6 Outlets, 3 USB Ports, and 10-Foot Extension Cord

    Best for Hard-to-Reach Outlets

    View on Amazon

    The SUPERDANNY is the placement pick in this group: its 10-foot cord and slim angled plug can reach farther than the six-foot Yintar and Amazon Basics cords, while fitting more neatly behind furniture. Six AC outlets have extra spacing for bulky plugs, and the strip can be mounted to a wall or desk to keep connections accessible rather than sitting loose on the floor. It also includes two USB-A ports and one USB-C port, but the total USB output is limited to 15W, matching the Anker’s shared USB ceiling despite Anker offering more AC outlets. Its 1050-joule surge rating is below the Yintar’s 1680 joules, and the stated 10A maximum current and 1250W maximum power make this a more constrained choice for higher-demand setups.

    Pros:
    • 10-foot cord and flat angled plug support flexible placement behind furniture.
    • Six widely spaced AC outlets accommodate larger plugs.
    • Includes two USB-A ports and one USB-C port.
    • Mounting holes and 1050-joule surge protection.
    Cons:
    • USB output is limited to 15W total across the ports.
    • Lower listed surge protection than the Yintar and the 12-outlet Anker and ALESTOR strips.
    • Indoor-use design and 10A maximum current limit its fit for some setups.

    Best for: People setting up a desk, bed, or entertainment area where the wall outlet is distant or the strip needs to be mounted.

    Not ideal for: Users needing more than six AC outlets, higher shared USB output, or a strip for outdoor use.

    • AC outlets:6
    • USB ports:2 USB-A and 1 USB-C
    • Maximum USB output:15W total
    • Surge protection:1050 joules
    • Cord length:10 feet
    • Maximum power:1250W
    • Maximum current:10A
    • Mounting:Wall or desk mountable
    Our verdict
    “Choose the SUPERDANNY when cord reach and mountable placement matter more than outlet count or stronger listed surge capacity.”
  5. Yintar 6-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 Outlets and 3 USB Ports

    Yintar 6-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 Outlets and 3 USB Ports

    Best Value for a Compact Charging Setup

    View on Amazon

    For a modest desk or bedside setup, the Yintar combines six AC outlets, three USB ports, and 1680 joules of surge protection without moving up to a 12-outlet strip. Its flat-plug, six-foot cord and mounting holes give it more placement options than a basic tabletop strip, while one widely spaced outlet helps with a bulky adapter. Compared with the SUPERDANNY, it has a higher listed surge rating but a shorter cord; compared with the Amazon Basics, it adds USB-A and USB-C charging. USB-A is specified at up to 2.4A per port and USB-C at up to 3A, though those figures do not state a combined charging wattage. Buyers who need reach should favor SUPERDANNY’s 10-foot lead, while those with many AC devices will get more sockets from Anker or ALESTOR.

    Pros:
    • Six AC outlets plus two USB-A ports and one USB-C port.
    • 1680 joules of surge protection and a 10A overload protection switch.
    • Flat-plug 6-foot cord and mounting holes allow flexible placement.
    • One widely spaced outlet fits a larger adapter.
    Cons:
    • USB-A output is limited to 2.4A per port, and combined USB output is not specified.
    • Six outlets provide less capacity than the 12-outlet Anker and ALESTOR strips.
    • The 6-foot cord is shorter than the SUPERDANNY’s 10-foot cord.

    Best for: A student, renter, or bedside user who needs a few AC connections, convenient USB charging, and a mountable flat-plug strip.

    Not ideal for: Users with many bulky adapters, a distant wall outlet, or a need for a clearly specified combined USB output.

    • AC outlets:6, including 1 widely spaced outlet
    • USB ports:2 USB-A and 1 USB-C
    • USB-A output:Up to 2.4A per port
    • USB-C output:Up to 3A
    • Surge protection:1680 joules
    • Overload protection:10A switch
    • Cord:6 feet, flat plug
    • Warranty:12 months
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Yintar for a compact, mountable charging station with a stronger listed surge rating than the SUPERDANNY, not for long reach or high outlet capacity.”
  6. QINLIANF Surge Protector Power Strip with 24 Outlets and 4 USB Ports

    QINLIANF Surge Protector Power Strip with 24 Outlets and 4 USB Ports

    Best for Maximum Outlet Capacity

    View on Amazon

    With 24 AC outlets and four USB ports, this QINLIANF is the lineup’s pick for a desk or work area where outlet count matters more than a compact footprint. Its 4100-joule surge rating is higher than the 2100-joule protection listed for the SUPERDANNY 28-Outlet model, while the QINLIANF has more AC outlets and fewer USB ports. The 6-foot flat-plug cord can help with placement behind furniture, and ETL certification adds a stated safety credential. The tradeoff is that its USB-C ports are limited to 5V output, so they won’t meet the needs of devices requiring higher-voltage charging. It also shares a 15-amp circuit capacity: filling the strip with plugs does not mean every connected device can run at full load simultaneously.

    Pros:
    • 24 AC outlets provide the highest stated outlet count among these five picks.
    • 4100-joule surge protection exceeds the ratings listed for the other strips in this batch.
    • Four USB ports include two USB-A and two USB-C connections.
    • A 6-foot flat-plug cord and ETL certification support flexible placement and documented safety testing.
    Cons:
    • USB-C ports provide only 5V output and do not support devices requiring 9–22V charging.
    • The total connected load must remain within the 15-amp rating, regardless of outlet count.

    Best for: Home-office users or shared workspaces that need to connect many standard plugs and several low-power USB devices in one place.

    Not ideal for: People charging laptops or other devices that require higher-voltage USB-C, or anyone who may exceed a 15-amp combined load.

    • AC outlets:24
    • USB ports:4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)
    • Surge protection:4100 joules
    • Cord length:6 ft
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • USB output:DC 5 V, total 3.4 A
    • Safety certification:ETL
    Our verdict
    “Choose this QINLIANF when you need unusually high AC outlet capacity and stronger listed surge protection, but not high-voltage USB-C charging.”
  7. YISHU Surge Protector Power Strip with 8 Outlets, 4 USB Ports, and 6-Foot Cord

    YISHU Surge Protector Power Strip with 8 Outlets, 4 USB Ports, and 6-Foot Cord

    Best for Widely Spaced Plugs

    View on Amazon

    The YISHU’s eight outlets spaced 1.8 inches apart make it a practical choice when chunky adapters would block neighboring sockets on a tighter strip. It is easier to place on a small desk than the 24-outlet QINLIANF, and its mounting holes and flat plug offer options for keeping the strip secured and close to a wall. Four USB ports add convenient charging, though the USB-C port tops out at 5V/3A rather than serving as a higher-voltage laptop charger. Its 900-joule surge rating is also lower than the listed ratings of the QINLIANF and both SUPERDANNY models here. The 10-amp maximum current makes this a better fit for everyday electronics than a heavily loaded workstation.

    Pros:
    • Eight outlets have 1.8-inch spacing to reduce adapter interference.
    • Four USB ports include three USB-A ports and one USB-C port.
    • Flat plug and mounting holes give placement flexibility.
    • ETL-listed with overload and surge protection features.
    Cons:
    • 900-joule surge protection is below the ratings listed for the other products in this batch.
    • The 10-amp maximum current limits its suitability for a heavily loaded setup.
    • USB-C output is limited to 5V/3A.

    Best for: People with a compact desk or bedside setup who use bulky power adapters and want a mountable strip with both USB-A and USB-C.

    Not ideal for: Users connecting a high combined electrical load or seeking stronger stated surge protection and higher-voltage USB-C charging.

    • AC outlets:8
    • USB ports:4 (3 USB-A, 1 USB-C)
    • Outlet spacing:1.8 in
    • Surge protection:900 joules
    • Cord length:6 ft
    • Maximum current:10 A
    • USB-C output:5 V/3 A maximum
    • Certification:ETL
    Our verdict
    “Pick the YISHU for a modest-load setup with bulky plugs, but choose a higher-capacity model for demanding equipment or a larger surge rating.”
  8. SUPERDANNY 10-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 13 Outlets and 4 USB Ports

    SUPERDANNY 10-Foot Surge Protector Power Strip with 13 Outlets and 4 USB Ports

    Best for Long-Reach Placement

    View on Amazon

    A 10-foot cord is the defining advantage here: it can reach a desk or dorm setup that sits far from the wall outlet, where the 6-foot YISHU or QINLIANF may fall short. The SUPERDANNY pairs that reach with 13 widely spaced AC outlets, four USB ports, and mounting capability, making it a flexible option for a shared workspace. Its 2100-joule rating exceeds the YISHU’s 900 joules, but it remains below the QINLIANF’s 4100 joules. The 13-amp, 1625-watt limit is a meaningful constraint for equipment-heavy setups, and its USB-C ports provide standard 5V/3A output rather than higher-voltage charging. The long cord solves a placement problem, not a circuit-capacity one.

    Pros:
    • A 10-foot flat extension cord reaches farther than the 6- and 6.5-foot cords on other picks here.
    • Thirteen widely spaced AC outlets accommodate larger adapters.
    • Four USB ports include two USB-A and two USB-C ports.
    • Mountable design and stated surge, overload, and overheat protections support organized placement.
    Cons:
    • The 13-amp and 1625-watt limits are lower than the 15-amp ratings of the QINLIANF and 28-outlet SUPERDANNY.
    • USB-C ports are limited to 5V/3A.
    • The Type B plug is intended for compatible outlets.

    Best for: Dorm residents, office users, or anyone whose equipment area is several feet from the nearest usable wall outlet.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need maximum surge rating, a 15-amp load rating, or USB-C charging above 5V/3A.

    • AC outlets:13
    • USB ports:4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)
    • Cord length:10 ft
    • Surge protection:2100 joules
    • Maximum current:13 A
    • Maximum power:1625 W
    • USB-C output:5 V/3 A
    • Mountable:Yes
    Our verdict
    “Choose this model when a long reach and widely spaced outlets matter more than a 15-amp rating or the lineup’s highest surge protection.”
  9. SUPERDANNY 28-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 USB Ports

    SUPERDANNY 28-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 6 USB Ports

    Best for Shared Workstations

    View on Amazon

    For a shared desk or equipment area with a large mix of plugs, this SUPERDANNY combines 22 grounded AC outlets with six USB ports. It has four more total charging ports than the QINLIANF, though the QINLIANF provides 4100 joules of surge protection compared with this model’s 2100 joules. Its 15-amp, 1875-watt rating gives it more stated capacity than the 13-amp SUPERDANNY with the 10-foot cord, but connected devices still share that limit. Widely spaced outlets, keyhole mounting, and a flat plug help make a large strip easier to position and organize. A 6.5-foot cord offers less reach than its sibling, and the side outlets cannot rotate, which may make some adapter combinations awkward.

    Pros:
    • Twenty-two grounded AC outlets and six USB ports support many connected devices.
    • Widely spaced outlets help accommodate larger power adapters.
    • Flat plug and mounting keyholes offer practical placement options.
    • 15-amp, 1875-watt rating is higher than the 13-amp rating on the 10-foot SUPERDANNY.
    Cons:
    • Surge protection is 2100 joules, below the QINLIANF’s 4100-joule rating.
    • Side outlets cannot be rotated, which can limit adapter arrangement.
    • USB-C charging is limited to 5V/3A.

    Best for: Shared workstations, media areas, or electronics benches that need many grounded connections and several USB charging ports.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need a long extension reach, rotating outlets, or the higher surge rating listed for the QINLIANF.

    • AC outlets:22
    • USB ports:6 (5 USB-A, 1 USB-C)
    • Surge protection:2100 joules
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • Maximum power:1875 W
    • Cord length:6.5 ft
    • Dimensions:11.65 × 6.37 in
    • Mountable:Yes
    Our verdict
    “Choose this SUPERDANNY for a densely connected, mountable workspace, but favor the QINLIANF if surge rating is your main priority.”
  10. One Beat 10-in-1 Surge Protector Outlet Extender with Rotating Plug and USB Ports

    One Beat 10-in-1 Surge Protector Outlet Extender with Rotating Plug and USB Ports

    Best Compact Wall Extender

    View on Amazon

    Unlike the corded QINLIANF and SUPERDANNY strips, the One Beat plugs directly into a wall outlet, keeping a small charging setup close to its power source. Its three-sided layout offers six AC outlets and four USB ports, while the 180-degree rotating plug can help the extender sit more neatly across different outlet orientations. That makes it a better fit for a bedside table or travel-ready home setup than the bulkier 22- and 24-outlet strips. The compromise is capacity: it supplies far fewer AC connections, has 1800-joule surge protection, and its USB ports share just 5V/3.1A total. This is suited to phones and small electronics, not a cluster of power-hungry devices or fast USB-C charging needs.

    Pros:
    • Direct-to-wall design avoids a separate corded strip on the floor or desk.
    • Six AC outlets and four USB ports fit a small multi-device charging area.
    • A 180-degree rotating plug can adapt to outlet orientation.
    • ETL certification and 1800-joule surge protection are specified.
    Cons:
    • Six AC outlets offer much less capacity than the corded SUPERDANNY and QINLIANF models.
    • All USB ports share a total output of 5V/3.1A.
    • The listed maximum load is 1875W/15A, so connected devices must stay within that limit.

    Best for: People who want a compact wall-mounted charging point for a few household devices, phones, and small electronics.

    Not ideal for: Workstations with many plugs, devices that need high-voltage USB-C charging, or setups that need a long cord to reach equipment.

    • AC outlets:6
    • USB ports:4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)
    • Surge protection:1800 joules
    • Plug rotation:180 degrees
    • USB output:DC 5 V/3.1 A total
    • Maximum load:1875 W/15 A
    • Certification:ETL
    • Warranty:1 year
    Our verdict
    “Choose the One Beat for a compact wall-based charging station, not for a high-capacity desk or equipment setup.”
  11. Teiobar Wall Outlet Surge Protector with 6 Outlets and 4 USB Ports

    Teiobar Wall Outlet Surge Protector with 6 Outlets and 4 USB Ports

    Best Wall-Mounted Pick for USB Charging

    View on Amazon

    The Teiobar stands out among wall-mounted options for combining six widely spaced AC outlets with four USB ports, including two USB-C. That layout suits a bedside or shared charging area where several devices need power without a cord running across the floor. Its 1,680-joule rating matches the POWRUI and QINLIANF wall extenders, while the Teiobar adds one more USB port than the POWRUI. A center screw helps keep it attached to a compatible duplex outlet, but that advantage disappears on GFCI outlets, where it cannot be secured. USB-C is limited to 5V charging and won’t serve devices needing 9–22V or Quick Charge 3.0. I’d choose it for ordinary phones and accessories, not as a fast-charging hub.

    Pros:
    • Six widely spaced AC outlets fit larger adapters
    • Four USB ports include two USB-C connections
    • Center screw secures the extender to compatible duplex outlets
    • 1,680 joules of surge protection
    Cons:
    • Cannot be secured to GFCI outlets
    • USB-C ports are limited to 5V and do not support Quick Charge 3.0 or 9–22V devices

    Best for: Households that want six wall-mounted outlets and several standard USB charging connections near a bed, desk, or kitchen counter.

    Not ideal for: People with GFCI outlets or USB-C devices that require higher-voltage or Quick Charge charging.

    • AC outlets:6
    • USB ports:4 (2 USB-A, 2 USB-C)
    • Surge protection:1,680 joules
    • Maximum current:15 A
    • USB output:Total 5V, 3.4A; USB-A up to 5V/2.4A per port; USB-C up to 5V/3A per port
    • Outlet spacing:2.2 inches
    • Compatibility:Duplex outlets; cannot be secured to GFCI outlets
    • Certification and warranty:ETL; 12 months
    Our verdict
    “Choose the Teiobar for a secured wall-mounted setup with six AC outlets and four everyday USB charging ports, provided your outlet is not GFCI.”
  12. Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 8-Foot Flat-Plug Cord

    Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with 8-Foot Flat-Plug Cord

    Best for Maximum AC Outlet Capacity

    View on Amazon

    For buyers who need a high count of AC outlets rather than built-in USB charging, the Belkin is the strongest fit in this group. Its 12 outlets and 8-foot flat-plug cord make it easier to reach a desk or media setup than the wall-mounted Teiobar, POWRUI, and QINLIANF extenders, while avoiding a crowded receptacle. The listing specifies 3,940 joules of surge protection, an indicator light, and wall-mounting support; it also describes a 6,000V maximum spike voltage and noise filtering. One listing detail is inconsistent: the protection rating is given as both 3,780 and 3,940 joules, so I would not treat the higher figure as settled. Unlike the HANYCONY, it has no specified USB ports. This makes it better for plugs and adapters than direct phone charging.

    Pros:
    • Twelve AC outlets provide capacity for a dense device setup
    • Eight-foot cord with angled flat plug improves placement options
    • Safety indicator light shows protection status
    • UL-compliant design with recycled material and a connected-equipment warranty
    Cons:
    • No USB ports are specified
    • The supplied listing gives conflicting surge ratings of 3,780 and 3,940 joules

    Best for: Home-office and media-center users who need many AC connections, a long reach, and a flat plug for placement near a wall.

    Not ideal for: People who want USB-C or USB-A charging built into the strip, or buyers who require an unambiguous surge rating.

    • AC outlets:12
    • Cord length:8 ft (2.4 m)
    • Surge protection:Listed as 3,940 joules; another supplied listing figure is 3,780 joules
    • Maximum spike voltage:6,000 V
    • Clamping voltage:L-N 400V; L-G 500V; N-G 500V
    • EMI/RFI noise filtering:150 kHz–100 MHz, up to 75 dB
    • Certification:UL-compliant
    • Warranty:2-year limited warranty; $300,000 connected-equipment warranty
    Our verdict
    “Pick the Belkin when 12 AC outlets and an 8-foot cord matter more than USB charging or a fully consistent surge-rating listing.”
  13. POWRUI 6-Outlet Wall Outlet Extender with 3 USB Ports and Night Light

    POWRUI 6-Outlet Wall Outlet Extender with 3 USB Ports and Night Light

    Best Wall Extender for a Bedroom

    View on Amazon

    The POWRUI is the most bedroom-focused wall extender here: it pairs six AC outlets and 1,680-joule protection with a dusk-to-dawn night light that has touch control and three brightness levels. That light is the differentiator over the Teiobar, which provides an extra USB port but no night-light feature. Compared with the QINLIANF, the POWRUI also gives up one USB port while adding adjustable ambient lighting. Its single USB-C port is limited for devices needing 9–22V, so I’d treat it as a convenient charging connection rather than a fast-charge solution. The wall-mounted form keeps cords off the floor, but it offers no reach beyond the outlet itself. Choose it for a bedside or hallway outlet where gentle light and extra sockets are useful together.

    Pros:
    • Six AC outlets with 1,680 joules of surge protection
    • Dusk-to-dawn night light has touch control and three brightness levels
    • Three USB ports include one USB-C connection
    • ETL Listed for indoor use
    Cons:
    • USB-C does not support devices requiring 9–22V charging
    • Only three USB ports, fewer than the Teiobar and QINLIANF extenders
    • Wall-mounted design provides no cord for positioning outlets elsewhere

    Best for: Bedroom and hallway users who want a wall-mounted outlet extender with an automatic, adjustable night light.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need four USB connections, higher-voltage USB-C charging, or a cord to place outlets away from the wall.

    • AC outlets:6
    • USB ports:3, including 1 USB-C
    • Surge protection:1,680 joules
    • Night light:Dusk-to-dawn sensor, touch control, 3 brightness levels
    • Dimensions:5.5 × 2.1 inches
    • Certification:ETL Listed
    • Warranty:1 year
    Our verdict
    “Choose the POWRUI for a bedroom or hallway where a dimmable automatic night light is more useful than a fourth USB port.”
  14. QINLIANF 5-Outlet Wall Extender with 4 USB Ports and Surge Protection

    QINLIANF 5-Outlet Wall Extender with 4 USB Ports and Surge Protection

    Best Compact Wall Extender for Shared Charging

    View on Amazon

    The QINLIANF suits buyers who want four USB connections on a wall-mounted extender but can make do with five AC outlets instead of six. It has one more USB port than the POWRUI, though it lacks that model’s built-in night light; the Teiobar offers six AC outlets and the same number of USB ports, making it the more flexible choice when socket count matters. Here, 2.1-inch spacing helps accommodate larger plugs, and the center screw steadies the unit on a compatible duplex outlet. Its 1,680-joule protection is in line with the other wall extenders in this group. The main fit limitation is firm: it cannot be secured to GFCI outlets. Its USB-C connection also stays at 5V, not Quick Charge 3.0 or 9–22V charging.

    Pros:
    • Four USB ports include three USB-A and one USB-C
    • Five AC outlets have extra spacing for larger plugs
    • Center screw secures the extender to compatible duplex outlets
    • 1,680 joules of surge protection
    Cons:
    • Cannot be secured to GFCI outlets
    • Provides one fewer AC outlet than the Teiobar and POWRUI
    • USB-C does not support Quick Charge 3.0 or 9–22V devices

    Best for: People charging several phones or small devices at a duplex outlet who value four USB ports more than a sixth AC outlet.

    Not ideal for: Users with GFCI outlets, larger numbers of AC-powered devices, or USB-C devices needing higher-voltage charging.

    • AC outlets:5
    • USB ports:4 (3 USB-A, 1 USB-C)
    • Surge protection:1,680 joules
    • Outlet spacing:2.1 inches
    • USB-A output:5V/2.4A maximum per port
    • USB-C output:5V/3A maximum; no Quick Charge 3.0 or 9–22V support
    • Outlet compatibility:Duplex outlets; cannot be secured to GFCI outlets
    • Certification and warranty:ETL; 12 months
    Our verdict
    “Choose the QINLIANF if four USB ports are the priority and five AC outlets are enough for your compatible duplex outlet.”
  15. HANYCONY 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with USB Ports and 5-Foot Braided Cord

    HANYCONY 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip with USB Ports and 5-Foot Braided Cord

    Best for Mixed AC and USB Devices

    View on Amazon

    The HANYCONY is a practical middle ground for a desk or dorm setup that needs both multiple AC outlets and direct USB charging. Its eight AC outlets and four USB ports can serve more device types than the AC-only Belkin, though the Belkin has 12 AC sockets and a longer 8-foot cord. The HANYCONY instead adds two USB-C ports, a 5-foot braided cord, a flat plug, and mounting holes for flexible placement. Its 1,080-joule surge rating is lower than the 1,680-joule wall extenders listed here, so buyers focused primarily on surge capacity may prefer those models, despite their different outlet format. USB charging can briefly interrupt when another device is connected or disconnected. The 15A and 1,875W limits also call for care when several high-draw devices share the strip.

    Pros:
    • Eight AC outlets plus four USB ports support mixed device setups
    • Two USB-C and two USB-A ports provide direct charging connections
    • Flat plug and mounting holes support flexible placement
    • Overload protection and a surge-protection indicator are specified
    Cons:
    • The 1,080-joule rating is below the 1,680-joule ratings of the wall extenders in this batch
    • USB ports may briefly interrupt charging when another device is connected or disconnected
    • The 15 A and 1,875 W limits restrict the combined load of connected devices

    Best for: Students and home-office users who need a mix of AC outlets and USB-A/USB-C charging in a mountable power strip.

    Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing a higher stated joule rating, a longer cord, or uninterrupted USB charging during device changes.

    • AC outlets:8
    • USB ports:4 (2 USB-C, 2 USB-A)
    • Surge protection:1,080 joules
    • Cord length:5 ft, braided
    • USB-C output:Up to 5V/3A
    • USB-A output:Up to 5V/2.4A
    • Certifications:ETL, RoHS
    Our verdict
    “Choose the HANYCONY for a mountable desk or dorm setup that needs both AC sockets and USB charging, while keeping its load limits in mind.”
multiple outlet surge protector
What makes a great multiple outlet surge protector
1
Count devices, then check plug spacing
Count the devices you expect to connect at the same time, including chargers and occasional-use equipment, and leave a little room
2
Match the form to the outlet location
A corded power strip is easier to position on a desk or behind equipment, while a wall extender connects directly at the receptacl
3
Choose cord length for the actual route
A longer cord can make a strip useful across a desk or room where the outlet is not nearby; the SUPERDANNY 10-foot option is one e
4
Treat USB ports as convenience, not a substitute for outlets
Built-in USB-A and USB-C ports can reduce the number of charging bricks occupying AC sockets.
How to choose your multiple outlet surge protector
1
How we picked
I compared the 15 listed products by how well their designs solve common multiple-outlet problems: powering several devi
2
Count devices, then check plug spacing
Count the devices you expect to connect at the same time, including chargers and occasional-use equipment, and leave a l
3
Match the form to the outlet location
A corded power strip is easier to position on a desk or behind equipment, while a wall extender connects directly at the
4
Choose cord length for the actual route
A longer cord can make a strip useful across a desk or room where the outlet is not nearby; the SUPERDANNY 10-foot optio
5
Treat USB ports as convenience, not a substitute for outlets
Built-in USB-A and USB-C ports can reduce the number of charging bricks occupying AC sockets.
Vetted multiple outlet surge protector ·
The best multiple outlet surge protector, compared
★ Winner Anker 351 Power Strip with 12
Best Overall for High-Capacity Charging
15compared
4100 joulestop surge protection

How We Picked

I compared the 15 listed products by how well their designs solve common multiple-outlet problems: powering several devices, reaching a usable location, accommodating plugs and adding USB charging. I gave weight to outlet count, cord length, wall-mount versus strip format, and the mix of USB ports, while treating surge protection as a distinct buying requirement rather than assuming every outlet extender offers the same protection. Product names and stated features provide the basis for this comparison; I do not infer electrical performance beyond the listed information.

The order favors flexible, broadly useful options first, then models with a more specialized advantage or a narrower fit. The Anker 351 leads for its combination of 12 outlets and USB-C/USB-A charging; long-cord SUPERDANNY strips and high-capacity models follow for particular crowded setups. Simpler six-outlet strips and wall extenders rank lower for general use, not because they are poor fits, but because they serve a smaller range of setups. Before choosing any model, check its full specifications and safety markings against your devices and local requirements.

Which multiple outlet surge protector fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing Multiple Outlet Surge Protector

Choosing a multiple outlet surge protector starts with the layout of your devices, not with the biggest number on the box. I would map where the strip will sit, what plugs need to fit at once and whether USB charging can replace a separate adapter. These factors help distinguish a useful capacity upgrade from a bulky accessory that still leaves your setup awkward.

Count devices, then check plug spacing

Count the devices you expect to connect at the same time, including chargers and occasional-use equipment, and leave a little room for additions. A high outlet count helps only if the plugs can fit without blocking neighboring sockets. Large adapters can make a 12-outlet strip less usable than its headline number suggests. Look for clearly spaced outlets or a layout that alternates plug direction when bulky plugs are part of your setup. Avoid choosing a 24- or 28-outlet model just for the number if you have only a handful of devices and limited desk space. Keep high-draw appliances within the product’s stated limits rather than treating every socket as interchangeable.

Match the form to the outlet location

A corded power strip is easier to position on a desk or behind equipment, while a wall extender connects directly at the receptacle and keeps a cord off the floor. That convenience can come with a drawback: an extender may cover the second outlet or project too far to sit flush behind furniture. A rotating plug, as found on the One Beat model, can help with orientation, but it does not make every wall layout compatible. Measure the clearance around the receptacle, especially if it is behind a cabinet or sofa. For a wall-mounted unit, check whether its body will interfere with adjacent switches, sockets or trim. Choose the format around access and placement, not appearance alone.

Choose cord length for the actual route

A longer cord can make a strip useful across a desk or room where the outlet is not nearby; the SUPERDANNY 10-foot option is one example in this roundup. Extra length also creates more cable to route, secure and keep away from walkways. Shorter cords can make a compact setup tidier, but they may force the strip into an inconvenient position. Measure the path from the wall outlet to the intended strip location, allowing enough slack to avoid pulling the cord taut. Do not use an extension cord to compensate unless the product instructions and applicable electrical guidance permit it. A flat plug may help furniture sit closer to a wall, though the plug shape does not replace checking the full cord route.

Treat USB ports as convenience, not a substitute for outlets

Built-in USB-A and USB-C ports can reduce the number of charging bricks occupying AC sockets. They are handy for phones and other compatible small devices, but port count alone does not tell you charging speed or whether a device will receive the power it needs. Check the manufacturer’s output specifications for each port and compare them with your devices’ requirements. A model with several USB ports may be more useful than a larger AC-only strip for a family charging station, while a workstation with monitors and peripherals may need more standard outlets. Keep a dedicated charger available for devices that require a particular charging standard or higher output. Do not assume that a USB-C port automatically supports every fast-charging mode.

Verify surge protection and electrical limits

Multiple outlets and surge protection are separate features, so confirm that the specific model is described and rated as a surge protector. Compare the stated joule rating and other protection details where the manufacturer provides them, and read the product instructions for status indicators or replacement guidance. Surge protection does not make a strip suitable for every appliance, nor does it guarantee protection against every electrical event. Check the rated voltage, current and wattage against the devices you plan to connect, and avoid exceeding the strip’s total load. Do not chain power strips together or use a damaged cord or housing. If the setup includes sensitive or high-value equipment, weigh whether a dedicated protection solution better matches its risk and power needs.

Pay for the capacity and build details you will use

A more elaborate strip makes sense when its extra outlets, longer cord, USB-C port or construction feature solves a real problem in your setup. It is harder to justify a very high-capacity model for a few chargers, especially when its body takes up space and its added sockets will sit unused. Braided cords and flat plugs can help with durability or placement, but neither replaces proper ratings and careful use. For a simple lamp-and-charger arrangement, a basic six-outlet strip may be easier to manage. For a crowded shared workspace, a larger model can reduce adapter clutter if its footprint fits. Compare the full specifications and safety information rather than selecting by outlet count or styling alone.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a 24- or 28-outlet surge protector better than a 12-outlet model?

Not automatically. A very high outlet count suits a setup with many small plugs, but the strip itself can take up more space and bulky adapters may block sockets. A 12-outlet option such as the Anker 351 or Belkin model may be easier to place for a typical desk or entertainment system. Check the total electrical load as well as the number of connections; adding sockets does not raise the strip’s capacity. Choose the larger unit only when your device count and layout make those extra outlets useful.

Can I use a wall outlet extender behind a sofa or cabinet?

It depends on the extender’s shape, the outlet location and the clearance behind the furniture. Direct-mount models such as the One Beat, Teiobar and QINLIANF wall extenders can remove a trailing cord, but their housings may protrude and prevent furniture from sitting close to the wall. They may also block a neighboring receptacle. Measure the available depth and check whether the unit’s plug orientation works with the outlet. If access is tight, a corded strip positioned beside the furniture may be easier to reach and inspect.

Do built-in USB ports charge as quickly as a separate charger?

That depends on the ports’ stated output and the charging requirements of your device. The product names in this roundup identify USB-A and, for the Anker 351, USB-C ports, but port type alone does not establish charging speed or supported protocols. Check the manufacturer’s output specifications before relying on a built-in port for fast charging. Integrated ports are useful for reducing the number of plugs in use, especially for everyday accessories. Keep a dedicated charger for devices that need a specific charging mode or higher power.

How long should the power strip cord be?

Measure the route from the receptacle to the location where you want the strip, then allow enough slack for safe, relaxed routing. A 10-foot cord can reach farther across a room than the six-foot cords on several models here, but extra length can add clutter if the strip sits close to the outlet. A short cord may keep a compact desk setup neater while limiting placement choices. Avoid stretching a cord taut, running it where people can trip over it or hiding it under rugs. Select a length based on the real route rather than choosing the longest option by default.

Can I plug a heater or other high-power appliance into a multi-outlet surge protector?

Check both the appliance instructions and the surge protector’s rated load before connecting anything with high power draw. A strip’s many sockets do not mean it can safely support several demanding devices at once. Some appliances may be required to connect directly to a wall outlet, so follow their instructions rather than relying on a general-purpose strip. Add up the connected equipment’s draw and stay within the strip’s limits. If those ratings are unclear or the appliance instructions rule out a power strip, use the specified connection method instead.

Conclusion

For the best overall balance of outlet capacity and USB charging, I’d choose the Anker 351. The best value for a simple setup is the Amazon Basics 6-Outlet strip, while the best premium-style fit for a crowded workspace is the Belkin 12-Outlet with its 8-foot flat-plug cord. For beginners who want a straightforward corded option without an unusually large footprint, I’d start with Amazon Basics and confirm that six outlets meet their needs. For long-reach setups, consider the SUPERDANNY 10-foot, 13-outlet model; for dense device clusters, compare the 24- and 28-outlet models; and for a cord-free wall connection, look at the wall extenders while checking outlet clearance. The right pick is the one whose protection rating, layout and electrical limits fit your equipment—not simply the one with the most sockets.

This content is for general information only and is not financial, tax or legal advice. Consult a qualified professional for decisions about your money.
HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

15 Best Savings Goal Thermometer Charts to Track Your Progress Effectively

Discover the best savings goal thermometer charts for 2026. Find top picks for classrooms, fundraising, and personal savings with expert insights.

7 Best Investment Tracking Software in 2026

Discover the top investment tracking software of 2026. Compare features, usability, and value to find the best fit for your financial goals.

5 Best Tax Preparation Organizers to Simplify Your Tax Season

Discover the top tax organizers of 2026, from large capacity spiral folders to compact document binders. Find the perfect fit for your tax prep needs.

12 Best Rich Dad Poor Dad Books to Transform Your Financial Future

Discover the top Rich Dad Poor Dad books of 2026. Find the best overall, value, beginner-friendly, and premium options to grow your financial knowledge.