🔍 Read the full analysis: Is ChatGPT Pro Different Now? A Look At The New Limits on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get smart everyday buys delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month Pro plan and doubled Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro tiers on Oct. 29. Pro 200 subscribers who had the lower allowance now match the higher one, while existing higher allowances remain; other limits, including Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, did not change.
OpenAI canceled a planned usage cut to ChatGPT Pro’s $200-a-month tier on Oct. 29 and increased the Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The change came one day before the Pro 200 reduction was due to take effect, and means some subscribers get more usage at the same prices, though not every ChatGPT limit has increased.
OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The two products draw from a shared allowance, so higher usage applies to that combined pool rather than separate quotas. OpenAI also canceled the reduction it had announced for Pro 200 in September.
The updated Pro help page clarifies that Pro 200 was restored, not universally doubled. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it; those on the lower allowance receive an increase to match. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal, and new subscribers get the revised amount.
Several limits and prices remain as they were. Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged; the lower weekly limit on Pro 200 now matches its higher one. Plus usage is unchanged, and Ultrafast mode remains exclusive to Pro 500. OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not specify by how much. Prices listed in the source remain $100, $200 and $500 a month for the respective Pro plans.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
What the Higher Allowances Change
The update changes how much work subscribers can do through ChatGPT Work and Codex, tools used for longer tasks and coding, without changing plan prices. For people who had been preparing for the Pro 200 reduction, the reversal avoids a scheduled loss of allowance. For Pro 100 and Pro 500 customers, the larger shared pool offers more room for those tools, but it does not mean every model or feature can be used twice as much.
That distinction matters when choosing a subscription or budgeting for team access. OpenAI says actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. Businesses should also distinguish subscription seat allowances from API budgets: the announced change concerns ChatGPT plan usage, not a stated change to API pricing or quotas. The source advises users to check their account usage before upgrading, since a larger allowance may not translate into the same amount of additional work for every workload.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Master 4 for Mac, Ergonomic Bluetooth Mouse with Haptic Feedback, Ultra-Fast Scrolling, USB-C Charging, for MacOS, iPadOS, Windo

Apple MacBook Pro (14.2-inch, 2025) – M5 chip, 16GB Unified Memory, 1TB SSD, Space Black

Apple MacBook Pro 14 2021 with M1 Max, 64GB RAM, 2TB SSD, Silver
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Change
The reversal followed a series of changes to OpenAI’s paid plans. In September, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro plan. TechCrunch reported that Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product lead who posts as Tibo, attributed the pause to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model. The source quotes him saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.”
On Sept. 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500, while telling affected subscribers that included usage allowances were changing. The company said the $200 monthly price would remain. Its Oct. 29 release note then reversed the planned Pro 200 reduction and raised the Work and Codex allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500. The notes were published in both ChatGPT and ChatGPT Business release materials.
OpenAI’s help page is the clearest plan-by-plan reference in the supplied material. Sottiaux’s post on X described the change as doubling “all usage limits” across Pro tiers and Business Premium. That wording is broader than the help page: the latter says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged. The article therefore treats the help page and release notes as the basis for the specific limits.
“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo
Limits OpenAI Has Not Specified
OpenAI’s release note does not give a numerical increase for Business Premium. Sottiaux’s post says the plan’s limits are doubling, but the supplied account says the official release note confirms only that usage is increasing. The precise Business Premium allowance is therefore not established by the cited plan documentation here.
The exact Work and Codex amounts for each plan are also not stated in the supplied release-note wording. OpenAI warns that usage varies with model, task and speed mode, so a twofold allowance should not be read as a promise of twice as many completed tasks or twice the output. The source also says OpenAI did not mention Business Standard, Go or Free in the Oct. 29 notes; it does not establish whether those plans changed elsewhere.
Check Plan Details and Usage
Subscribers do not need to take action to receive the revised allowance, according to OpenAI’s help page. Users can check their account’s usage information to see how the updated allowance applies to their work. People comparing tiers should verify which limits matter to them rather than relying on broad descriptions such as “all usage limits doubled.”
For companies, the next practical step is to review seat choices and monitor usage under the revised terms. Further clarity may come if OpenAI publishes specific Business Premium quantities or more detailed allowance tables. Until then, the confirmed changes are the Work and Codex increases on Pro 100 and Pro 500 and the cancellation of the Pro 200 cut; other claims should be read against the plan-specific help page.
Key Questions
Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT Pro limit?
No. OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500, but their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits stayed the same. Pro 200’s lower allowance was raised to match the higher one.
What changed for the $200 Pro plan?
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction due to begin Oct. 30. Subscribers who had the lower allowance now match the higher allowance; customers who already had the higher one keep it.
Do existing subscribers need to renew or change plans?
No action is required, according to OpenAI’s updated help page. Existing subscribers receive the revised allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.
Did Business Premium usage double?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no amount. Sottiaux described the increase as a doubling in a post, but the exact allowance is not specified in the official note cited here.
Did ChatGPT prices change?
The source reports no price change for the Pro tiers: they remain $100, $200 and $500 per month. It also says Plus remains $20 per month and its usage is unchanged.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
